2014-06-08 19.14.28

I’ve always loved eating jelly hearts. There’s something about the texture of the jelly with the smooth cream cheese that makes me crave for it every now and then! I used to make it very often, but I stopping because Jon isn’t really a fan of it haha. But anyways, the bkk girls and I ate the one that dewi made for her party and we all went home and made it too! It re-ignited the cravings I had for jelly hearts.

Jelly hearts is really easy to make and there are tons of similar recipes out there! The one that I chose was good for me, and I’m sure it will taste awesome for you too, enjoy! :)

 

2014-06-08 19.34.08

Adapted and modified from source

 

Ingredients:

(A) Crust
150 grams digestive biscuits pounded into fine crumbs
(I put the biscuits inside a zip lock bag, and pounded in with a cup, haha)
75 grams butter melted (I melt it in a microwave)
20 x 20 cm (8 x 8 in) tray or cake tin greased at the bottom and sides with melted butter

(B) Cheesecake Layer
1 level tbsp gelatin powder
3/4 cup hot boiling water
one block (250 grams) cream cheese softened at room temperature for about 3 hours
(I forgot to take it out 3 hrs prior to preparation, so I simply cut into small blocks and whipped it till it softens)
1 tsp vanilla extract
45 grams icing sugar
5 strawberries cut off the top, half each strawberry lengthwise then trim the top into a “V” heart shape

(C) Jelly Layer
one box (90 grams) strawberry flavored jello (I used Tortally brand)
3/4 cup boiling water
3/4 cup cold water


Method:

(A) Crust

  1. In a large bowl, combine biscuit crumbs and melted butter and mix well. Pour biscuit mixture into the tray, levelling the crust with something flat. I used the back of a glass cup for this. Allow to chill in fridge for about an hour.

(B) Cheesecake Layer

  1. Dissolve gelatin powder in a bowl of hot water (preferably just boiled), allow to cool for a few minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, add softened cream cheese, vanilla and sugar to electric mixer. Whisk until the mixture is light and fluffy.
  3. Add cooled gelatin mixture, a little at a time and whisk until the batter is smooth.
  4. Use a fork to prick holes all over the biscuit base. Pour the cream cheese mixture on to the biscuit base. Arrange and press 9 strawberry halves (3 by 3 grid) into the cream cheese mixture, letting each strawberry sink in gently. Allow to chill in fridge for at least four hours.

(C) Jelly Layer

  1. In a bowl, add jelly powder and boiling water. Whisk to dissolve the jelly crystals completely, then add cold water.
  2. Gently pour the cooled jelly mixture over the cream cheese layer. Return to fridge and chill for 3 hours.

 

2014-06-08 19.14.53

So here’s the layers for this recipe! You can pretty much play around with the proportions according to your taste, i.e you prefer a cake with less jelly/ more cheese etc. Or you could change the flavor: like using mango slices instead of strawberries and replacing it with mango flavored jelly. It’s really pretty versatile.

For instance, I don’t fancy fruits in my desserts so normally I omit the fresh strawberries (save money too, strawberries are expensive!). But for presentation purposes, I included them this time!

Since it’s a no-bake recipe, anyone can make this! Good for beginners!  :)